I mean, if you have to eat a salad…

26Aug09

…it may as well be one of the best ever…

A couple of weeks ago, my friend Sara and I headed to the Hollywood Farmer’s Market and on a whim, I picked up a crate of figs. I used to love them when I was little. My brain is warped, but I recall that it was either my friend Barron or my Aunt Carol who had a fig tree in their backyard and I would gorge on them during the warm California summer.You’d think I’d have kept them more conscious in my mind, but I can’t recall the last time I’d had one (all of my years eating Sari’s Fig Newtons doesn’t really count). Since the Farmer’s Market, that has all changed.

I have bought a carton of them every time I’ve visited a market these last few weeks and they hardly make it a day in my kitchen. I’m almost ashamed to admit it, but I stand over the kitchen sink with a pairing knife, slicing off the end and popping them in my mouth. I seriously can not get enough! Then this morning, yes you read that right, THIS morning, I was on Jamie Oliver’s website and I saw a heading for “The Easiest Sexiest Salad In The World” (you can click on that to be taken there). Since I have been eating a lot of salads lately (thank you Miss Jenny), how could I not be interested in “the easiest” and “the sexiest”?

You can imagine my glee when I clicked on the link and immediately saw three of my favorite ingredients: prosciutto, mozzarella and FIGS! I’m going to cut to the chase here… on my way home from my chiropractor appointment, I stopped at the Meat Market of Kenneth Village in Glendale where I bought a half pound of thinly sliced (but not so thin it tears like tissue) prosciutto. Then I headed off to three different stores in search of my beloved figs! Thank you magical buyers at the always reliable Trader Joe’s! Because I wanted it to be more of a “salad” and not such an “appetizer” feeling, I added in a bag of lamb’s lettuce and tossed it all together. Also, since the fine folks of Trader Joe’s offer buratta mozzarella (my personal favorite) at such a good price (two balls for $4.99), I opted for that instead of the buffala (plus it pulls apart and tosses much easier). This is what I did and it was so delicious, I couldn’t wait to share it with EVERYONE. Jamie, I am happy to agree with you… this is one of the YUMMIEST, easiest, sexiest salads ever!*

  • About 3/4 pound of figs (washed, tips cut off and sliced in half)
  • 1 bag of lamb’s lettuce (available at Trader Joe’s (and I’m sure butter lettuce would be just as nice))
  • About 6 slices of prosciutto (which I then tore into smaller pieces)

I have this special Hawaiian finishing salt my dad and step mom had sent me, so I used that for each step, but sea salt will be just as excellent. In a large bowl, I placed the prepped figs, sprinkled with a little salt, then tore up and added the prosciutto, sprinkled with a little salt, added the lettuce, yes sprinkled a little salt (key word each time: little), then I drizzled a little lemon juice, honey, olive oil and gave it a good toss. I finished it off with (you can probably guess it) a little salt and fresh cracked pepper. I wanted to cry it was so delicious. And no, for those keeping score, this isn’t necessarily on my Jenny Craig plan, but I have 3 hours of dance rehearsals tonight and if I am going to have any extra calories, every one in this salad is worth it. Enjoy! And let me know if you try it!

*be sure and try it soon, fig season will be ending soon and they are already hard enough to find!

One Response to “I mean, if you have to eat a salad…”

  1. I love this and the figs are finally in the stores!! Cannot wait to try this!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

