Appetizer – The Dip

04Jul08

The Dip by Baub

I am running out the door to get to a friend’s BBQ before they run out of parking. But I had to share my ultimate appetizer that drives people crazy every time. It has become affectionately known by my friends and everyone who has had it as, The Dip.

Even if you don’t like spicy, this recipe is an absolute must try. The comment I hear the most is, “I don’t usually like things spicy, but I can’t get enough of this”. It is all of the deliciousness of Buffalo Wings without the bones and the mess (and it travels and reheats very well).

The Recipe:

  • 2 bricks of cream cheese
  • 32-40 oz of shredded chicken (I have tried many variations and find that canned chicken not only works, but is easiest and shreds best which is very key).
  • 1 bottle of Frank’s Hot Sauce (I use the original)
  • 1 bottle of Ranch (you can also use a bottle of blue cheese, but I find it can be too tangy)
  • 8 oz of sharp shredded cheddar

.

Directions:

  • In a microwavable mixing bowl, melt the cream cheese until it is soft enough to mix with a rubber spatula.
  • Add the Chicken, Hot Sauce and Ranch.
  • Mix well.
  • Spread into a glass baking dish.
  • Sprinkle the cheddar on top.
  • Place in the oven (around 350 or any temp if you already have other things baking). Keep an eye on it until it seems to have cooked through and the cheddar on top is gold and bubbly.
  • Serve with tortilla chips.

.

I promise, you’ll be the hit of the party with this dip! Happy 4th of July!

3 Responses to “Appetizer – The Dip”

  1. 1 HoneyTone

    Drool.

  2. 2 Jordi

    What about the chicken?

  3. 3 Afaf

    Absolutely Delicious Thanks for sharing!!


Leave a Reply

